Beginning my journey

Greetings! I have been practicing mindfulness meditation for about 3 years and look forward to deepening my practice and sharing it with children. I currently work in the schools and I’m looking forward to learning more about Inner Explorer!

Hi Heidi,
Thanks for the note and wonderful that you’re looking for ways to share mindfulness with kids! I am happy to answer any questions and share details about the program.

One of the most important aspects of our program is that it provides teachers and school staff with the chance to practice each day, along with the students! As you probably know, this is unique in education. Typically, the teachers are teaching the material, or at the least, trying to navigate an app to find a relevant practice for students. Our program provides a sequence of practices that follow the MBSR format (beginning with concrete focused awareness practices and moving towards more abstract open awareness practices). With the daily practice series, students begin to experience and embody mindfulness and teachers are able to deepen their own practice. This increases the likelihood that teachers will be able to bring mindfulness into more aspects of their teaching throughout the day. It’s a virtuous cycle :slight_smile:

Teachers consistently tell us that practicing with IE is their favorite time of the day, especially because it requires no prep or planning. Also, depending where you live, we are collaborating with regional teacher training organizations so that if you’d like more guidance as to how to integrate more practices into the classroom, they can provide additional in-school support. Pease let me know if you have any specific questions.

With warmth, Laura

Hello Laura,
Thank you so much for the thoughtful reply. It was wonderful hearing from you.

I discovered Inner Explorer after looking into the Hemera Foundation to find a retreat to deepen my personal meditation practice.