Hi, I'm Sayaka

I’m a visual artist using discarded plastic objects to make sculpture and installation work. Although I’m Japanese, my parents raised my brothers and me in a non-religious setting and I’m new to Zen practice. I wouldn’t really categorize myself as Buddhist, I’m interested in a variety of spiritual practices.

I applied for the Tending Space Fellowship last year because I had been very focused on my studio practice for the past three years and although I was getting a good number of commission work, I had completely neglected self care and my work had become very separate from the rest of my life, and I was feeling out of balance. Now the commissions stopped coming in, and I feel as though the Universe is forcing me to pause and re-evaluate how I’m living my life. I don’t know what I’m going to do financially, but meditation is helping me deal with anxiety and fear of the unknown.

Hi Sayaka,

I think time to pause and reflect is very important. How might it look to suffuse your arts practice with an attitude and moments of self-care throughout and around it?

Dan, I would love to do that, but I might be thinking so because I’m already in pause. It will take some discipline for me to get to the point where I really am able to incorporate self care and contemplation in my art practice even when I’m under a tight deadline. I recently set up a home shrine in my studio after my Zen mentor Rinsen suggested it, and so now when I go into my studio I have a very brief ritual I go through before beginning to work. I’m hoping that this could remind me when I’m very busy to pause every once in a while.

Mmm, that sounds wonderful! Just reading about your shrine ritual gave me a nice pause :smile: