Using Inner Explorer with Special Education Students

Hello everyone,

I am a high school teacher, who is very interested in bringing mindfulness into the classroom as a tool for students to feel less anxious and more present. I have tried bringing this into the classroom by introducing Inner Explorer to my Grade 9 Special Education math class. Initially I was very hesitant since I felt that my students would be very reluctant to try this, and that I might get a lot of push back.

Day 1 went well, though many students felt it was “weird”. However, many students said they felt calm during the 8 minutes. There was a fair bit of fidgeting, but surprisingly no giggles or silliness during any of the breathing suggestions throughout the audio.

Day 2, most students chose to put down their heads, and it scared me to think many were tuning out the audio. But quite a few after the fact said that they were listening and trying the breathing practices - it just helped them to relax by putting their heads down. One student in class struggled a lot because he found it very challenging to just remain in his seat; he felt restricted and it wasn’t helping him relax (this individual has a severe case of ADHD and has recently been off his medication). His fidgeting was also disrupting a few students around him, and they brought this up with me after.